Reference library

Article number: 304635
Last updated: 05 October 2018

Configuring workflow

Workflow is made up of schemes, stages and actions and can be used for many things. It's primary use is to introduce a moderation layer between less qualified editors in order to prevent publication of their content prior to approval by another member of staff. Workflow is currently only applicable to pages and posts (add in 10.4).

This page is on the configuration of a workflow system, scheme, stage and action and it's application to a site. For more information, see the following:

 

Workflow schemes

The interface allows you to to create as many workflow schemes as you want for your site. A scheme can be applied to the entire site for to a single asset class. Every Sitekit site ships with two default schemes:

  • Instant publishing - default - this is where anyone can publish all their content instantly. Effectively this is workflow turned off and is how all sites are delivered
  • Approved publishing - this is a basic edit and approve single tier workflow system. It is explained in detail here

 

Applying a workflow scheme to the entire site

  1. Select the desired workflow scheme from the drop down list
  2. Click on 'apply to whole site', a popup warning will appear. On approval the scheme will be applied site wide

You can also apply a workflow scheme on an asset class by asset class basis using this interface. This means that some section of your site will be instant publishing but other more sensitive section can be more tightly controlled or controlled by different approval teams.

Deleting a workflow scheme

  1. Select the desired workflow scheme from the drop down list
  2. Click on 'delete this workflow scheme', a popup warning will appear. On approval the scheme will have been deleted along with its associated stages and actions

 

 

You can create a workflow scheme from scratch or by copying an existing one

Creating a new empty scheme

  1. Type the name of the new scheme in the top text box
  2. Click add

Copying an existing scheme

  1. Select the name of the scheme you want to copy from the drop down list.
  2. Type the name of the new scheme in the top text box
  3. Click copy

In addition you can rename an existing scheme by selecting the candidate in the drop down list, inputting the new name in the text box and clicking on rename

wflow2

 

Stages

Each workfow scheme is made up of one or more stages. A stage is made up of one or more actions. 

The fields for each stage are as follows

  • Stage name - this is name given to the stage. Stages tend to be given descriptive verb titles like 'editing' and 'publishing' or deleting.
  • Description - this is a short textual description that can be used as a reminder of what the stage is for
  • Role / Group - Derived from a drop down list of all administrative groups. This is the group of people that will be notified when an asset is moved to that stage. The default group is 'anyone' and represents all administrative users
  • Actions - This link allows you to edit the fields in the stage and also opens the list of actions related to the stage, which appear beneath it.
  • Delete - this deletes the stage.

Adding a new stage

  1. Click on the  'add another stage' link at the bottom of the table.
  2. Enter the relevant fields as listed above.
  3. Click on 'insert' to add the new stage or cancel to remove it

Edit a stage

  1. Click on the 'actions' link next to the stage you want to edit.
  2. Update the relevant fields as listed above.
  3. Click on 'update' to add the updated data or cancel to revert to the original
wflow4

 

Actions

The action define the specific functionality provided in the top of the page edit for the specified group in each stage. 

The fields for each stage are as follows

  • Action name - this is name given to the action. It's also the text used for the relevant button in the page editing window..
  • Description - this is a short textual description that can be used as a reminder of what the action is for, it also makes up the tool tip for the page edit button
  • Actions - Presented as a drop down list this defines the action that will be performed from the button click. There's a fixed number of options available listed below:
    • Save - saves the page
    • Publish - saves and publishes the page
    • Changestage - used to move between stages
    • Properties - shows the page properties
    • Revert - rolls back to last published version
    • Delete - deletes the page
    • SchedulePublish - publishes the page at the deferred date (as defined in page properties) -
  • Next stage - presented as a drop down made up of all the existing stages this the next stage that the administrator will be taken to on successfully clicking the relevant action button.  This just moves the process onto another stage, for example someone might approve it and it then move onto the next stage of approval. You can use in conjunction with other buttons, e.g. save moves it to another stage.
  • Role / Group - This is group of people who will see a button for this action on the toolbar when they open the asset.
  • Notify - if checked clicking on the relevant action button causes all people in the role for the next stage to be notified via the tasks menu item that this needs their attention. 
  • Email - if checked clicking on the relevant action button causes all people in the role for the next stage to be emailed that this needs their attention. The exception to this is if its the 'anyone' group in which case no emails are sent..
  • Comment - if checked, this prompts the administrator to enter a short text note. The note is posted in the task list for the relevant user and at the top of the page in question.
  • Edit- this opens up the action fields above for editing
  • Delete -  this deletes the current action

Adding a new action

  1. Click on the  'add another action' link at the bottom of the table.
  2. Enter the relevant fields as listed above.
  3. Click on 'insert' to add the new action or cancel to remove it

Edit an action

  1. Click on the 'edit' link next to the action you want to edit.
  2. Update the relevant fields as listed above.
  3. Click on 'update' to add the updated data or cancel to revert to the original
wflow5simple

Related questions


This article was last updated on 05 October 2018. Did you find it helpful?