Reference library

Article number: 301168
Last updated: 20 April 2015

Recycle Bin

The recycle bin is temporary storage for site assets that have been deleted but not yet permanently erased.

You can browse the recycle bin and view deleted assets and choose whether to refresh the recycle bin, empty the recycle bin, reinstate a deleted asset, or permanently delete an asset.

Empty The Recycle Bin function allows the user to permanently delete all assets that are temporarily being held in the recycle bin.

  • In the Asset Tree, find the Recycle bin at the bottom of the asset tree.
  • Right click the recycle bin, and the click Empty the Recycle Bin.
    You will be issued with a warning ensuring that you want to delete the contents of the recycle bin.
  • if you are sure you want to continue, click yes.
    This will permanently remove everything from the recycle bin.

Remove Older items function deletes any asset from the 'Recycle Bin' that were put in the bin more than 90 days ago.

  • In the Asset Tree, find the Recycle bin and right click on it.
  • Click 'Remove Older items'.
  • Click 'OK' or 'Cancel'.

 

Refresh Tree function refreshes the recycle bin, if you have deleted or reinstated an asset and the tree has not been updated right click on the 'Recycle Bin' folder and click 'Refresh Tree'.

Reinstate a deleted asset (Undo delete) function will restore a deleted asset to its original folder in the Asset Tree.

  • In the Asset Tree, find the Recycle bin and expand to find the asset you want to reinstate (you can also use the 'Search'  box at the top of the tree).
  • Right click on the assets you want to reinstate.
  • Click 'Undo Delete'.

Remove Permanently function deletes an individual asset from the 'Recycle Bin'.

  • In the Asset Tree, find the Recycle bin and expand to find the asset you want to delete.
  • Right click on the assets you want to delete permanently.
  • Click 'Remove Permanently'

 

 

 

Key Notes

You will only be able to move an asset to the recycle bin if the asset is not being used by any pages.

If an asset is being used by a page and the user tries to move it to the recycle bin, the user will receive an error message stating that the asset cannot be deleted as there are still pages using it.

If the user wishes to delete this asset they must: 

  • find the asset they wish to delete in the asset tree
  • right click the asset and click Edit
  • click Usage function

This will list the pages that the asset is being used by and allow the user to change the page properties so it no longer uses the asset.

  • When the asset is not in use by any pages it will be free to moved to the recycle bin.

 

 




Related questions


This article was last updated on 20 April 2015. Did you find it helpful?